Comic press PSI / pressure

Does anyone know the range of pressure required to press comics ? — like to press deep creases out of Bronze Age books — if anyone knows or has a machine with a psi or total pound force read out that can tell you please let me know. Thanks

1 Like

@dPcomics

1 Like

I’m assuming you’re using a pneumatic pressing machine. Those typically don’t go lower than 15-20 PSI. I don’t have experience w these because I use hand lever presses and I measure the pressure based on feel, not PSI. If you are using a pneumatic press, use lighter pressure. 10 PSI if possible. Generally you don’t need much pressure to get creases out. It’s everything you do before the press that matters most, like massaging the crease out with a ball bearing and introducing humidity.

Def do more research though, good luck!

2 Likes

I am a newbie to getting books pressed. I decided to give CCS pressing a try of 25 books, all modern mostly from the 80’s and alot of the books came back with grading notes, with “light cover bends” and light creasing"

Does pressing not remove these types of defects? overall disappointed with the CCS pressing results.

Yes if you read some of the other threads here on pressing, people would tell you not to send books to ccs grading. You really want the monkeys at CGC to press your books? They do a quick press and that’s it. They won’t give you the attention and care that a lot of third party pressers will give your books. Search around there’s lots of good recommendations for pressers with good reputations.