Ebay Help for a Novice Seller

I am going to start selling a few duplicate slabs on eBay, which is something I have never done before.

Are there any tips that people have about how to minimise the risk of selling to scammers and time wasters? I understand there might be a way to stop people with ‘dodgy’ histories being able to see/buy, but have no idea if I made this up in my head.

Any other tips about successful selling greatly appreciated.

You can block buyers with bad feedback or if you’ve personally had a bad experience with them. It’s hard to do in advance without knowing their user I’d, though. Probably not possible.

You can, however, review a bidder’s feedback during auction bidding or when they pay and Vance the order if they don’t meet your standard of feedback.

1 Like

There are some buyer requirements that you can set at
https://www.ebay.com/bmgt/buyerrequirements

You can block known bad buyers and stop buyers who might have cancelled other purchases that they never followed through on.

You can set the Immediate Payment option on Buy It Now listings so that items aren’t actually sold until payment is received. This isn’t an option for auctions.

Anything that is high value should be sent with Signature Confirmation. Sometimes, just stating in your listing that you will ship with Signature Confirmation will deter scammers.

Remember that even though you can say there are no returns allowed, there are always returns allowed. The SNAD (Significantly Not As Described) return option is always available to all buyers regardless of whether or not the seller states that they accept returns or not.