Have You All Tried the, "Whatnot," App?

I’ve been using a newer app called, “Whatnot,” after I downloaded it for a, “Comics Vault Live,” event Skybound did. It is pretty interesting. Imagine if Facebook Live had a baby with eBay. People do live streams with auctions of items. It is most popular right now for Funko Pops and sports cards/trading cards, but there is a comic-book presence. You have to apply to host a stream and sell stuff as it is still a younger app but anyone can log on and buy stuff if you enter payment info. I got a good deal in a stream on some Department of Truth comics when I won an auction.

3 Likes

I have the app, but haven’t really known how to use it. How do you know when the livestreams happen for comics?

I identified comics as my favorite category and it lists all upcoming streams for it first. Then I bookmark them so it reminds me when they go live. If I’m doing it right? I’m still kinda new at it.

Interesting you bring this up. We’re going to have a cool announcement about them on our show this Friday at 9pm ET/6pm PT. This is the first I’ve mentioned this anywhere.

I watched some live selling tonight. Everything went for about 150-200% of current eBay prices. Who are these people that just spend like crazy on these books?!? I mean, good for the seller, but damn. They have gated sellers so far, so you can’t go in and sell whatever you want.

People with a lot of money,but no common sense.

Some stuff gets bid on for absurd levels. There are sometimes deals to be had, however.

I’ve been tuning into the Whatnot sales more and more and have been having some very good success. You just have to pay attention to books that are under the radar versus currently red hot. Some sellers also clearly have a devout following of folks who I honestly think do some shill action. Like all things, you just have to be careful. The format itself is pretty great though and I’ve gotten some great deals lately.