Press or Not Press

I am a newbie when it comes to getting comics pressed and submitted for grading. I hear alot of people stating that every come should be pressed before you send for grading. Is there a general rule for which books to press before send off to CGC or CBCS?

I have a bunch of silk 1, thor 5, venom cates books that are border line 9.6.

any insights appreciated.

1 Like

I’m sure some will disagree, but I won’t submit any book without a press. I’m sure in some cases it is a waste but previously I have submitted books I thought were good to go that came back with little issues a press would have handled.
The difference in grades (and subsequent value) with many books is so huge that it is worth the 8-12 bucks for reassurance.

Now, if you have a stack of one book and really don’t care much anyway whether it’s a 9.4 or a 9.8…then no reason to waste the money. Some people just want it slabbed for display.

5 Likes

I have everything scanned for press by the graders in case any damage from shipping. For the most part I’m pretty good about knowing what needs a press and they probably feel I waste their time scanning everything but it’s free where I grade my books.

1 Like

Might sound crazy but if you send enough books it might be worth buying a press. That is what I did. It cost $150 on eBay and after some trial and error it is pretty easy.

I wouldnt even know where to start to press my own books and I would be too afraid to press high end books like x-men giant size #1.

There’s pressing your books with a heat press you get off amazon or eBay but the professionals use a tack iron, heat press, and dry mount press in combination. The dry mount press being the pricey one unless you find one cheap from somewhere going out of business.

I personally have everything pressed. No need to take unnecessary risks. This only applies if you care about the best possible grade for your books, imo.

2 Likes