Looking for ASM 300 & Opinions

So, I’m ready to fill a key hole. I’m looking for an ASM 300. DM me if you have one that you willing to part with.
I currently have two slabbed options in my sights. The first is an 8.5 newstand, the other is a 9.2 direct. For the same money, which would you choose?

1 Like

For me, the higher grade takes precedence on that book.
I actually just purchased a 9.2 direct myself after a ton of sideline watching and contemplating what grade I felt I’d be happy with all things considered.

Best of luck!

1 Like

I’m no expert on values and rarity, nor am I well seasoned collector… but my knee jerk reaction is to snag the 9.2

I hope this helps.

1 Like

Anything above a 7.0 for that book you will be happy. 9.8s were $300 when I bought mine and instead I bought a high grade raw for $50 it’s been graded since 8.5. I wish I just shelled out the $300 back then.

1 Like

Go for the 9.2 direct. An 8.5 Newsstand isn’t all that rare. In all honesty Newsstands, even high grades don’t seem to get actually “rare” until the 2k’s.

1 Like

I hear ya…When I bought mine, 9.8 copies were around $350. I thought that was too much for a book with such a huge print run so I settled on a 9.6 for $150 with free shipping. Not complaining but I never thought I would see 9.8 prices where they are now.

1 Like

1988 was approximately 70%/30% Direct/Newsstand.
Not rare for Newsstand; although one should factor in the highest of grades for newsstands since they were generally not as well taken care of as their direct counterparts in any era.

That said, 8.5 is not near the highest of grades.
So I’d go with the 9.2

3 Likes

Try to zoom in on the pics provided and buy the one you like more… Don’t focus on the grade that was slapped on the label.

Buy the book, not the slab.

3 Likes