What is everyones Holy Grail Book

I am new to the Comics heating up forum. Long time comic reader who is getting back into comics 10 years later. I just picked up one of my Holy grail books and was wondering what others were looking for.

X-Men Giant Size # 1 - I bought it off ebay and got it pressed. Not a high grade but fits my budget and happy to add to my collection. Other Grails I am looking for: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #1 1st print, Copra #1, Hulk 181.

What are your Holy Grail books?

4 Likes

Giant Size X-Men #1 is definitely one of the grail books I want to buy, one day.

1 Like

I would love to have Marvel Spotlight #5, HOS #92 and WBN # 32

My ultimate grail is Amazing Fantasy 15. I have no idea how I’ll ever own it, though.

2 Likes

Save up… for very long time. Win lotto? Steal one… :wink:

1 Like

Fantastic Four #1. Still undervalued & misrepresented on the big screen, and the foundation of the Marvel age we live in

3 Likes

My grail for years and years and years was Hulk 181. Finally got one a couple years ago, which graded at 6.0. My runner up grail was GSX 1, which I lucked into a low grade copy last year. Haven’t had it graded yet but I think I’d be lucky to hit 3.0 after pressing. In time, I’d like to upgrade to higher grades of both books.

Despite my avatar, I don’t even try for Golden or Silver Age Batman keys. Just wrote those off as eternally out of my budget a loooong time ago.

My grail is likely the grailiest of grails: Detective Comics #27.

I can say with 99.9999% certainty that I’ll never own one… which I guess is the point of a grail. It will LIKELY be perpetually out of my budget unless I end up tripping over a solid gold boulder, reach out and pull a slot handle as I’m falling and hit a jackpot, then finally land on a winning lotto ticket. I would need to have that much FU money to purchase one.

3 Likes

Werewolf by Night #32, I was able to get a lower grade copy this year.

4 Likes